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WooCommerce Product Add-Ons Are Not Enough. You Need This Too…

17
February
2018

Product Add-Ons for WooCommerce have two main benefits for your store.

First, they give your customer something to talk about to others. A product with a custom engraving or monogram or a really cool design with your personalized logo and slogan is much more interesting. Add ons let your customers say “this is mine” and that matters.

Second, they can help you increase your Average Order Value (AOV) if you charge for the add on. Letting customers add a personal message on a piece of jewelry, for example, usually comes with a price. It’s not that much more money so most customers will be willing to pay it.

So your Product Add On succeeds in helping your store make more money by increasing your Average Order Value.

Your AOV is one of the most important numbers in your business. It’s the average dollar amount of each customer transaction. To calculate your AOV in a given month, simply divide that month’s revenue by the total number of orders.

For example if your revenue one month was $20,000 and you had 1,000 orders – your AOV would be $20.

So if you have an AOV of $20 and you figure out a way to grow to $24, you’ve just increased your sales by 20%. It’s really powerful because you can send existing customers or subscribers back through a promotion and you’ll earn more per transaction.

Hang on to anything that helps you increase AOV… including Product Add Ons.

BUT Product Add-Ons alone are not enough. Not by a long shot.

If you play the long game in your business you’ll understand that the more you make from each sale, the faster you can scale your business.

The problem with using Product Add Ons to do this is it depends too much on volume.

As I said before add ons typically cost very little. They increase the sale but not by much.

So what are your options if you want to maximize your opportunities to increase your AOV. Product Add Ons are one option. Keep offering them.

But I want to walk you through three other options that have the ability to give you those 20% (or more) increases we talked about earlier.

Three Ways to Supercharge Your WooCommerce Product Add-Ons

1. Use an Order Bump on Your Checkout Page

An Order Bump is a powerful strategy that has been used by businesses long before the internet. It allows you to make an offer for something else that you know your customer would value without having them jump through a lot of hoops.

They just check the box and the item is added to their cart before checkout. Typically you’ll see prices range between $7 and $39.

This feature for WooCommerce is available if you use Handsome Checkout.

2. Offer a Post Purchase One Click Upsell

A post purchase One Click Upsell is an offer that is shown after a person enters their credit card information on your checkout page and clicks “BUY.”

In that moment they have become infinitely more valuable to you, regardless of the purchase price. Want to know why?

Because once someone buys from you one time, they are more likely to buy something from you again. And that starts immediately.

So the perfect next step for them is a special one time offer that you’ll show immediately after purchase. And since it’s “one click” your customer just clicks “YES” or “NO” – there’s zero friction.

3. Offer a Post Purchase Downsell

A post purchase one click Downsell is an offer you show after a customer declines your first upsell.

For example if you sell jewelry and your one time upsell offer is for a discounted jewelry cleaning kit, you want to have another offer ready for people who decline that one time offer.

You might test an even bigger discount or you might offer a smaller travel cleaning kit that costs less.

Either way, by setting up a good downsell ahead of time, you give yourself every opportunity to increase your store’s AOV.

If you want to learn more about how One Click Upsells for WooCommerce works, and here from other users, click here.

The amazing FACT about upsells is this…your customers will thank you for showing them these one time offers, if you do it right. Make your upsells relevant and also make it clear that their original order was received.

For more info on how to actually make an offer with One Click Upsells, check out our Upsell Checklist.

WooCommerce Product Add Ons alone are not enough to give you the kind of AOV increases you’ll need to scale. But by adding One Click Upsells, Downsells and Order Bumps, you’ll quickly see your sales go up EVEN as your traffic stays the same.

And that’s pretty cool!

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Bogdan
In 2009 he started contributing to WordPress and couple years later built his first WooCommerce store. Now he's helping WooCommerce storeowners all over the world make more money with their stores. Wordpress problem solving expert, backend developer, founder of BogdanFix.

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